Cookware as art, cast iron and cornbread

I’m a very visual person and I’ve always been a fan of open cabinetry in the kitchen. My pots and pans are tools, yes, but most of them are well crafted and quite visually appealing. They are the tools that I use to show my love (food is love? you bet!) and seeing them reminds me of meals and stories that have happened in my kitchen. They are my friends and I like to see them. And, apparently I’m not the only one!

The Southern Food and Beverage Museum just announced a Pots and Pans Project to construct a public art sculpture composed of pots and pans from restaurants from around the south. (Have you ever been to the Southern Food and Beverage Museum? It’s fabulous. Go.)

Miller Union Restaurant in Atlanta has a cast iron cookware wall – gorgeous!

I have a special affinity for cast iron. The longevity and history that a pan accumulates with its seasoning is special. I have a Le Creuset pan that is lovely and you can’t find a better pan for a pan sauce, but…its just not cast iron. Maybe one day my great granddaughter will be using that pan and then we’ll talk. Until then, this gorgeous pan that belonged to Neal’s grandmother is the go-to in our kitchen.

Speaking of cast iron, you should check out The National Cornbread Festival in South Pittsburg, TN. Everyone knows that you can’t make great cornbread without a cast iron skillet and South Pittsburg just happens to be the home of Lodge Manufacturing. You can spend the day in South Pittsburg and sample cornbread done a dozen different ways, shop the Lodge outlet (fabulousness!), and tour the historic homes and buildings of South Pittsburg. There’s also a 5k Saturday morning if you’re feeling frisky. Someday I’d love to spend the year doing the races at these types of food festivals. The t-shirt collection would be great!

My favorite cornbread memory is with my Granny Dye. She made the best cornbread with the most perfect crispy edges. She would always let me nibble the edges and never got mad when I ate all the way around! I think I’ve actually figured out the crispy edges, but they still aren’t as good without her.

Cheers!

Categories: Food in the news, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cookware as art, cast iron and cornbread

  1. sallysuetou

    Granny did make the best cornbread!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

