Strawberry Sorbet

Strawberries are here!! Strawberries are one of the things that I pretty much refuse to eat out of season so when they arrive, I’m very happy. (Really, why would you eat a berry that was picked under ripe and shipped half way across the country?? They almost taste even better when you know that the season is fleeting and your should eat your weight in berries now before they disappear)

They aren’t the first spring produce to show up in the market but when they arrive they seem to say with authority that winter is over and it is time for grilling and porch sitting and sorbet!

You can make sorbet with fresh berries, certainly, but I’m usually too busy shoving them in my mouth to get around to that. So, I clean and hull them and toss them in the freezer. Thaw them out before you are ready to make the sorbet. This sorbet was made with berries from both Tidwell Berry Farm and Flat Top Mountain.

I use the berry sorbet recipe from America’s Test Kitchen. It’s the first one I ever tried and it worked like a charm so I’ve stuck with it.

Add 3 cups of hulled and cleaned berries to the food processor with 1 cup sugar and a pinch of salt. Process for about 15 pulses. Then, while the machine is running, add 2 tablespoons of lemon juice (freshly squeezed) and 1 tablespoon vodka. No, the vodka doesn’t give you boozy berry sorbet :), but it does raise the freezing temperature of the sorbet just a bit and prevents ice crystals from forming. Let all of that process for about a minute total.

At this point the original recipe suggests straining the strawberry puree to remove the tiny seeds. I don’t strain it, however. I like the texture the seeds leave and I like the way it looks. Whatever you prefer is fine.

Strained or not, poor into a chilled bowl and place in the freezer to chill for about 30 minutes. Then, pour into your ice cream maker and follow the directions for your specific machine for sorbet. I have the ice cream attachment for the Kitchen Aid mixer and I really, really like it. It’s great to not have to mess with salt and ice and I just keep it in the freezer all the time so its ready to go at a moments notice.

Let it freeze for about 4 hours and its done!

cheers!

Categories: dessert, Local Food | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

