Sunday Market! 6-24

I would have done well to have had a grocery cart today! Lots of gorgeous, delicious meal inspiring produce today!

Cantaloupe and peaches – Hazelrig Farm

Orange and Red Beets, Blueberries, patty pan squash, zucchini, golden zucchini, Brussels sprouts, purple bell peppers and green beans – Signal Mountain Farm

Goat Cheese – Bonnie Blue Farm

Finn style Sausage – Link 41 Sausage

 

I received a reply from the market director addressing my concerns about a vendor that was rumored to be reselling produce. He said:

They are exclusively employees of Watsonia.  We also insist in producer only presence, but many of our vendors employ others to assist with the businesses.
As near as we can tell, it’s a qualified and legitimate relationship and they are eligible to vend at the market. 
Thanks for your note. We mulled over this issue for some time, but came to the realization that its no different than several other long-term vendors and there staff. 
 Feel free to continue to ask questions/etc – we are committed to maintaining our high-quality market
I’m still not sure how I feel about the situation. I don’t think it is the same as other vendors who have staff working for them. This produce is being grown 298 miles from Chattanooga which seems a pretty far stretch to be called local. They sell it to a man in Atlanta who then drives it up to Chattanooga. It just doesn’t sit well with me so I’m sticking with the produce that I know and enjoying my weekly chats with the farmers themselves who remember me and ask how the peach jam turned out.
Categories: Chattanooga Market, Local Food | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

