Zucchini with Baked Eggs

I may have mentioned that I’m not a Food Network kind of girl. Other than Iron Chef I’ve not found much there that captures my attention and even Iron Chef can be a bit…much sometimes. However, I found myself flipping through Food Network magazine the other day while waiting somewhere and I came across this recipe that just looked so good! It takes a bit of prep work to prepare the zucchini but the actual hands on time is minimal. These lovely green and golden zucchini came from Signal Mountain Farm. I prefer the golden zucchini over the standard green. The flavor just seems better to me.

Start by grating the zucchini. I ended up using about 3 1/2 of these. Toss the grated zucchini with a tablespoon of salt and put in a colander to drain. It is amazing how much liquid will drain out of the zucchini! Let it sit for about 30 minutes and then press with a spoon to remove the last bit.

Cook the drained zucchini in the skillet with onion. I also added a bit of purple bell pepper – the first bell pepper I’ve had this year! (also from Signal Mountain Farm). As you cook the zucchini it will release even more water. Apparently zucchini are a persistent sort of vegetable. Drain this from the skillet as needed. You can add a bit of salt to taste but go sparingly. Remember that tablespoon of salt earlier? Yeah, it doesn’t all go away with the water. Also add a bit of grated nutmeg. Why would you buy powdered nutmeg when you can grate these cute things?

Once the zucchini has just started to brown remove from the heat and let it cool for about 5 minutes. Spread the zucchini into an even layer in the skillet.  Then, use the back of a spoon to create 4 little wells in the zucchini. Crack an egg into each well and grate some Parmesan cheese over the surface. Bake at 350 until the eggs are set to your liking.

cheers!

Categories: What's for dinner? | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

