It’s been busy…

Goodness! I’ve been so busy cooking and creating and putting up that I haven’t exactly had time to write about anything.

20 (twenty!) quarts of sauerkraut, 8 pints of roasted corn salsa, and 5 half pints of blueberry butter

The cabbage for the sauerkraut came from Signal Mountain farm as did the blueberries for the blueberry butter. The corn in the salsa is from Rainbow Hill Farm. The variety of this corn is Luscious and Rainbow Hill is growing it as it is available in organic seed. Their farm is not certified organic yet but they are making strides! It was delicious but the ears are a bit small.  The tomatoes and onion in the salsa came from the market but neither farm appears to have a name.

15 bags of purple hull peas for the freezer

These peas came from The Dekalb County Farmers Market in Atlanta. They are local to that area and I’ve decided the Dekalb Market is my best option for buying peas in bulk as I’ve had bad luck with my pea ventures in Chattanooga. If you are anywhere close to the Dekalb Market you must check it out. It is an international market with the most amazing selection of just about everything. The prices are wonderful as well.

Sometimes I get so caught up preserving and putting away that I forget I can enjoy the goodness right now. Luckily I don’t forget for too long…

Blueberry butter…who needs bread??

Blueberry butter is something I just discovered this week in a new preserving book, Food in Jars. It is a more sophisticated version of jam. There is less sugar and the addition of lemon zest, nutmeg, and cinnamon give it a spicy flavor. Delicious!

cheers!

Categories: Local Food, preserving the harvest | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s been busy…

  1. Sounds wonderful. I’m going to have to ask you for another recipe…the corn salsa. I think I know exactly what I’m going to be doing this weekend 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

