Lebanese Stuffed Peppers

We made these Lebanese Stuffed Peppers from Cooking Light recently. The recipe states that the traditional recipe uses ground lamb but they chose to use ground sirloin instead. We had ground lamb in the freezer and I tend to get frustrated with recipes that try to Americanize an ethnic dish too much so we used ground lamb from Sequatchie Cove Farm.  (Granted, there are some ingredients that you just can’t find locally and I’m not opposed to substitutions but ground lamb is pretty common these days).

These bell peppers are from Signal Mountain Farm.

Against my better judgement we followed the directions for microwaving the peppers before stuffing. I think this just really made them watery.  I think the best way to cook peppers before stuffing is to cook them in a dry, hot cast iron skillet. Turn them frequently so they brown on all sides. This gives you much better flavor.

I never have beef broth (because the only broth I have is what I make and beef bones don’t find their way into my kitchen too often). Normally I do have lamb broth but not tonight so I substituted veggie broth throughout the recipe. No need to use bland water when you have broth!

I initially didn’t realize that the lamb went into the peppers raw. I think that works much better than precooking the meat as I’ve done in the past. I’d advise basing the doneness on temperature, not just time however. We cooked our lamb peppers to 155 degrees. I’d take sirloin out at about 160 degrees.

The sauce cooks down a good bit so I ended up adding another cup of tomatoes to the pan. The flavors were still good and we had just the right amount of sauce.

Parsley is another thing that I never have. I see it called for a good bit but I just don’t care for it and therefore don’t keep it around. I don’t think we missed anything.

Overall I think they turned out well…

cheers!

Categories: What's for dinner? | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

